As it turned out, girls were even harder to come by than drugs

Behind the airport is a circular clearing of grass surrounded by thick, thorny brush and dense trees.  Apollo and I found it one day on one of our epic hikes looking for empty bottles to throw at things that annoyed us.  We recognized the clearing as something unique even then, strung out as we were on inhalants and moth ball fumes.  This was a time when drugs were hard to come by.  I thought, “I will bring a girl here some night to watch the planes fly overhead and we will make out in the tall, soft grass.” 

As it turned out, girls were even harder to come by than drugs, so it became our place to hang out. After Apollo and I fell out, for reasons neither of us could or would articulate to the other, Willy took it over.

One day Willy found power lines that led from the giant, diesel-powered electric plant to the airport, itself.  He spliced some wires and had power to burn, which of course meant that we would need to build a club house, and stock it with a beer fridge, tv, and computer, which is exactly what we did. 

With porn and beer at hand, we both flunked out of high school and turned to lives of crime.  One could make a good living selling ripped pornos and CDs, and though it was a hassle, both of us will admit when high that that business venture alone was more responsible than any other factor for leading us into the adult films industry. 

Admit it.  If you found a video store than not only had all the movies you wanted to see but could also promise to make you whatever other kind of movie you could dream up in your weird, weird head, you would go there first.  We were also very affordable and prided ourselves on being “people” people.  

———

REVIEWS

Part action, part thriller, all comedy, The Librarian at the End of the World fires on all cylinders. Fans of Thomas Pynchon and David Foster Wallace will revel in the ridiculousness that is Miller’s America.”

A constantly surprising picaresque journey through cultural darkness”

A most unique rollicking story that careens from the almost familiar instantly into a world of what is happening here?

Not so much a novel as a perpetual- motion machine: part road-show, part parable, careening between surrealism and comedy”

Laugh out loud rambling tale of the future/present”

Prepare to be blown away”

On the cutting edge of audacious literature”

Takes madcap to a new level, blending Preston Sturges and Philip Dick”

Outrageous and thought-provoking”

Just blown away.”

Fantastic and bizarre”

Lovecraft turns Beatnik and drops acid”

One of the absolutely most freakishly odd books I have ever read”

It’s like E. L. James, Larry Flynt, and Hunter Thompson somehow merged their DNA”

Even Carrie Fisher (yes, her vagina is in here) isn’t safe from this menace!”

If you are looking for a completely unique book, this one is hot!”

Funny and intelligent”

Filled with hedonism, erotica and hilarity.”

Only for strong and fearless readers.”

Wild, trippy, fun, and sometimes profound”

I found myself engaged, disconnected and overwhelmed all at the same time”

No one would ever expect this”

Imagine a world where Thin Man was co-written by Tim Leary and Douglas Adams and set in the Office staffed by assassins”

Brilliant, raunchy, hilarious, heartfelt, and by the end, breathtaking”

 “Social satire at its best”

In the end, this romp becomes something else. It becomes a work of art, moving and funny and memorable.”

Editor’s note: Technically it is her vulva, not her vagina.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s