Featured

What Readers Say about The Librarian at the End of the World

Part action, part thriller, all comedy, The Librarian at the End of the World fires on all cylinders. Fans of Thomas Pynchon and David Foster Wallace will revel in the ridiculousness that is Miller's America." “A constantly surprising picaresque journey through cultural darkness” “A most unique rollicking story that careensfrom the almost familiar instantly into a world … Continue reading What Readers Say about The Librarian at the End of the World

The mob in pursuit throws dead rats at the van. 

When we land the flight attendants warn us to move as quickly through the airport as possible.  “There is a van waiting outside for you. The driver is holding a sign that says 'Rothschild.' Your baggage will be brought to you.” “What's this all about?” I say, but when she opens the doors, and we … Continue reading The mob in pursuit throws dead rats at the van. 

 “You’re mad at me for getting a girlfriend,” he said, referring to Emma Gurney, the attractive but not-hot eleventh grader who was not as smart as my brother, but who liked him, and thus began taking him away from me on the weekends.

 A random memory of Apollo crosses my mind, and I sigh with regret. Wasserman looks up from his book, and I quiet down. I was sitting at the kitchen table in my parents’ house when I became aware of Apollo’s presence behind me.  “What’s up,” I asked, not looking up from my book.  He began … Continue reading  “You’re mad at me for getting a girlfriend,” he said, referring to Emma Gurney, the attractive but not-hot eleventh grader who was not as smart as my brother, but who liked him, and thus began taking him away from me on the weekends.

Talking to Anti-Vaxxers

What is totally fascinating is that Americans are so divided and alienated, that they cannot even talk to one another. For instance, I saw a commercial that was, like, stark black and white depicting nurses and doctors saying, "You trust us with your health decisions, now trust us with the vaccine." And then it cut … Continue reading Talking to Anti-Vaxxers

What kind of librarian can’t organize things?

In Paris we have time to deplane and walk around to stretch our legs. I get two cups of coffee and croissants, and start to rejoin Katie, when I see that Wasserman has found her. He‘s carrying a light carry-on and looks even older than I remembered. They seem natural enough together. Maybe it won't … Continue reading What kind of librarian can’t organize things?