One of the kids standing up in the back seat is holding an AR-15

The Dallas streets are mostly empty, and I kick my way around the block, ambling generally in the direction of my car, but in no hurry. I hear a distant yell, and squealing tires.  I turn and see some teenagers joyriding a convertible.  The driver is straightening out after a high-speed drift through a red light and around a corner.  I watch for a moment to admire his driving prowess and then realize that one of the kids standing up in the back seat is holding an AR-15.  Then a second person stands, also packing.  They open fire on the buildings on either side of the road, shattering windows and setting off alarms.  They’re coming fast, and it dawns on me that I need to get off the sidewalk. 

I duck into a café, and call to the barista, “Everyone needs to get down!  There are some kids shooting out all the storefronts!” 

He looks up from the cappuccino maker, “Thanks.  I’ll get your order in a moment.”

I glance around in the seconds before the gunfire and see the calm before the storm.  No one moves or even acknowledges what I have said.  I yell, “In a few seconds bullets are going to rip through this room and kill all of us!  Everyone get down!”

———

REVIEWS

Part action, part thriller, all comedy, The Librarian at the End of the World fires on all cylinders. Fans of Thomas Pynchon and David Foster Wallace will revel in the ridiculousness that is Miller’s America.”

A constantly surprising picaresque journey through cultural darkness”

A most unique rollicking story that careens from the almost familiar instantly into a world of what is happening here?

Not so much a novel as a perpetual- motion machine: part road-show, part parable, careening between surrealism and comedy”

Laugh out loud rambling tale of the future/present”

Prepare to be blown away”

On the cutting edge of audacious literature”

Takes madcap to a new level, blending Preston Sturges and Philip Dick”

Outrageous and thought-provoking”

Just blown away.”

Fantastic and bizarre”

Lovecraft turns Beatnik and drops acid”

One of the absolutely most freakishly odd books I have ever read”

It’s like E. L. James, Larry Flynt, and Hunter Thompson somehow merged their DNA”

Even Carrie Fisher (yes, her vagina is in here) isn’t safe from this menace!”

If you are looking for a completely unique book, this one is hot!”

Funny and intelligent”

Filled with hedonism, erotica and hilarity.”

Only for strong and fearless readers.”

Wild, trippy, fun, and sometimes profound”

I found myself engaged, disconnected and overwhelmed all at the same time”

No one would ever expect this”

Imagine a world where Thin Man was co-written by Tim Leary and Douglas Adams and set in the Office staffed by assassins”

Brilliant, raunchy, hilarious, heartfelt, and by the end, breathtaking”

 “Social satire at its best”

In the end, this romp becomes something else. It becomes a work of art, moving and funny and memorable.”

Editor’s note: Technically it is her vulva, not her vagina.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s