Home

Featured

What Readers Say about The Librarian at the End of the World

Part action, part thriller, all comedy, The Librarian at the End of the World fires on all cylinders. Fans of Thomas Pynchon and David Foster Wallace will revel in the ridiculousness that is Miller's America." “A constantly surprising picaresque journey through cultural darkness” “A most unique rollicking story that careensfrom the almost familiar instantly into a world … Continue reading What Readers Say about The Librarian at the End of the World

On Nostalgia (and hallucinogenics)

The problem with frogs is that sometimes they are covered in chocolate and sold as premium confections and other times they are simply bad, bad news. This was the truth as revealed to me by Wuckfit Juberock, who, in another time, was a good friend, his redneck tendencies notwithstanding. Of course, his memory becomes less … Continue reading On Nostalgia (and hallucinogenics)

Among those in our profession, a deep reverence for Ragnarok is often observed.

Of all the ancient tribal tales of the end, none resonates as deeply as the Vikings’.  The Christian Revelation we write off as the secret code that enabled the early church to meet, the Mayan calendar we dismiss as cyclical.  But the Viking’s prophecy of Ragnarok?  That’s some serious shit that is really going to … Continue reading Among those in our profession, a deep reverence for Ragnarok is often observed.

I become aware that a woman next to me has been making eye contact. 

Like all insurance conventions, this one is well-stocked with booze and coffee.  I pull myself a tall cup of French roast and secret five airplane bottles of Bushmills into my inside breast pocket. The unofficial credo of insurance agents has always been Loose but Tight.  Crazy enough to enjoy the night, sane enough to calculate … Continue reading I become aware that a woman next to me has been making eye contact. 

I leave the car half a mile away in case I get arrested again.

I drop Colletta off at a local massage parlor and set her up with a four-hour treatment involving waxing, exfoliation, oils, aromatherapy, steam room, chill room, ancient teas and herbs, soothing music, six-hand massage and happy ending, then I drive to the convention center.  I leave the car half a mile away in case I … Continue reading I leave the car half a mile away in case I get arrested again.